false labor

September 1, 2011

I never understood how women can falsely think they’re in labor until it happened to me last Saturday. We went in for our weekly doctor’s checkup, she did an internal examination (IE) to see how I’m progressing and as soon as we got home from Makati Med, I felt my first ever contraction. The OB did warn us that the IE could trigger labor but I thought nothing of it since nothing happened during the last IE.  I always wondered what contractions would feel like but as soon as I felt it, there was no doubt in my mind what it was.

I tried to time them as I’ve been told to do but they came irregularly. They came too often actually, coming in every couple of minutes and lasting an average of 30 seconds each. I tried to just go through with the day we planned. We cleaned the apartment, setup the crib, and since I really thought I’d be checking in the hospital soon, I tried to eat – they don’t let you eat once you’re in the hospital. 😐

The day went on, tried to walk around at Greenbelt, had mass, and still, the contractions came throughout the day. Since they never really got any stronger and I had no other labor signs like my water breaking, my OB said I didn’t need to go into the hospital yet.  Nevertheless, we packed up all our hospital stuff in the car thinking that it could happen at any time.

Well, it didn’t happen. By Sunday morning, there were no more contractions. It was just as if my body and the baby were practicing for the real thing. Now, it’s just a waiting game. Waiting for the contractions to come again or for some other labor sign to show up. I wonder when…

As of my count, today, I am 38 weeks and 2 days buntis. The OB says I’m only 1cm dilated so far but the cervix is loose already. Oh yeah, and we made it to September, yay!

Leave a Reply

