cloth diapers

August 5, 2011

 The people I speak with on a daily basis know that I’ve gotten a teeny tiny bit obsessed  passionate about cloth diapers. When I first found out I was pregnant, I believe it was first Renz who suggested we try to use ‘lampins’ for the baby rather than disposables. My first thought of lampins were ‘Ew, gross’. All I’ve ever heard about lampins were the locally available ones that are like gauze. I’ve never understood how those are expected to absorb anything and I just couldn’t imagine them working as diapers.

But, as I did more research about cloth diapering, through the help of the Internet and a lot of helpful forums, I’ve learned that cloth diapers have come a long way from the old fashioned lampins that I initially had in mind. There are now a variety of types to choose from. There are All-In-Ones (AIO), Pockets, Prefolds, Covers, Flats. Then the necessary accessories such as Snappis, Wetbags, etc.

Unfortunately, cloth diapering is not that well-known yet here in the Philippines. The ones that are locally resold cost almost double the amount it would cost if you bought it in the US. So, I decided to be resourceful and think long term to order enough from US websites so that my family could send it to me in a balikbayan box.  I also ordered a few cheap ones from a couple of sources in China that have gotten rave reviews from the cloth diapering forums. Now I have my first ‘stash’ which, hopefully, through proper care, will last until potty training. It really does get to be an addicting hobby but I’m satisfied now with the stash so I am not expecting to buy any more.

Only while researching for cloth diapers did I learn that disposable diapers are filled with potentially harmful chemicals and stay in the landfills for at least 500 years! A newborn baby is expected to use up about 10 diapers per day. If you’re using disposables, that’s a whole lot of crap (literally) that ends up in the landfills! Cloth diapering requires quite a big up-front investment but in the long run, I still expect we would end up with cost savings as well since having to buy disposable diapers on a regular basis does add up to quite a small fortune. It’s better for the environment, it’s better for the baby’s skin (since cloth is breathable rather than plastic used in disposables), it would result in cost savings, and they’re cute! I know it will take a bit more laundry and more effort to make it work but the benefits of using cloth diapers far outweigh the convenience of using disposable diapers.

Today, I’m 34 weeks and 3 days buntis.

4 Responses to “cloth diapers”


  1. J!
    Lapit na yan or not. Like ako I was 38 weeks ata when I gave birth. Anyway I hope you also ordered a breastfeeding pillow because it super helps. If you need also a contact for a breast pump I can refer you to the local distributor of Medel (tama ba?)

    • jiamsy Says:

      Thanks Marissa! I already have a pump – also ordered from the US. 🙂 I don’t have a pillow yet though…still thinking about it. What kind of pillow did you use?

  2. meekerz Says:

    Cute!! We do cloth diapers (the old fashioned white ones) during the day and disposables at night 🙂


Leave a Reply

