hospital stay

July 25, 2011

I started feeling sick right when I woke up on Saturday morning but just tried to brush it off thinking that it was just normal 3rd trimester morning sickness. I started to get worried though by the afternoon when I had already thrown-up 4 times even though I didn’t eat a lot the entire day. We decided to just play it safe and go to Makati Med for a check-up by around 11pm.

When we arrived at the Labore & Delivery area, we saw our friend Maui sitting in the waiting area! His wife, Mavic, was already inside and in labor. To make a long story short, I was admitted because they were worried about me being too dehydrated and from the fetal monitor they saw that I was having mild contractions and the heart rate was a bit high.

I was diagnosed with acute gastroentritis so they hooked me up to an IV and let me sleep while being hooked up to the fetal monitor. After a few hours, both our heart rates were down (normal) and I was feeling much better. I was anxious to go home but they wouldn’t discharge me until my OB said so. Argh. It was a long waiting game waiting for the OB to arrive. I much preferred to have rested and recovered at home.  I really don’t understand the mentality of hospitals here in the Philippines were they separate pregnant women from their husbands/families so they are left off to be by themselves. It’s so much more stressful to be by yourself. I wish the medical community in this country would realize that there is something wrong with their policies about labor and delivery.  Anyway, we got so frustrated waiting for my OB and having a hard time contacting her that we are actually now considering switching OBs to one that we can easily communicate with. Fortunately, she finally arrived around dinner time on Sunday and signed our discharge papers.

 The good thing about this hospital stay was that we can say that we were there when Gab Millan was born! Tin, Apol, and Miguel also visited us since they were there to visit the Millan’s. Here’s the new baby in the nursery. Newborns are so tiny and cute. These two look so innocent and peaceful! I can’t believe something like that can fit in my belly!

As of today, I’m 32 weeks and 6 days buntis. Only a few weeks more to go and we will soon have our own squishy!

Leave a Reply

