third trimester

June 23, 2011

We’re officially in the third trimester! It’s going by very fast and very slow at the same time. It’s anxiety and excitement all rolled into one weird feeling.

Since yesterday, the baby has been more active than usual. It’s as if he just learned how to do cart wheels and is constantly practicing. We’re now past the soft nudges and flutters, he’s definitely using all his might and exploring a lot more now. It’s still surprising sometimes but overall I don’t mind. I’d rather feel him moving than worrying about not feeling any movement.

Last Sunday, we went to our first birthing class with Chiqui Brosas-Hahn. There were probably 20 other couples there, all expecting their first babies and all due around the same time give or take a month or two. Overall, I had a very positive experience and I thought the class went well. It gave us a good idea of what to watch out for and what to expect. The classes last for 3 hours and occurs one day (Sunday) a week. We have 3 more classes to go so I’ll write a separate post on the birthing classes soon.

So far, it’s still early but the third trimester is the most uncomfortable one. I go to the bathroom way too often to pee. My belly feels so heavy all of a sudden. It’s harder to find the right sleeping position at night. It’s harder to sit comfortably. It takes a lot more effort (and grunting) to bend down when I have to pick something up. To top it all off, I’m hungry all the time! Oh wait, that last one is not new.

As of this post, I should be around 28 weeks and 2 days buntis. Approximately only 12 more weeks left. Next week, I’ll go to Makati Med for OGCT – Oral Glucose Challenge Test – to see if I’ve developed gestational diabetes. I hope I’ll pass!

Leave a Reply

