Baby stuff

May 23, 2011

There is a lot of baby-related fluff out there. They’re mostly so cute and colorful, it’s hard to resist caving in to everything you’re ‘supposed’ to have for the baby.  I guess it’s part of the nesting phase especially for first-time parents but for me, since I have little or no self-control, it’s hard to distinguish what we ‘need’ from what ‘I want’.

If we’re talking about basics, all the baby should really need is a place to sleep, clothes, food, diapers, and everything else is not really a necessity. Sounds simple enough.

Sleep – I don’t want to co-sleep with the baby in our bed. We live in a loft with no rooms so it’s not like we will ever be too far away. So where will the baby sleep? I was really, really tempted to buy a real crib. I already had a list of online sources about why it was better for the baby to sleep in a crib than in a pack and play BUT my sister has a pack and play that she can give to us for FREE. So there, it was decided based on practicality that we will just reuse that and I will just order a mattress.

Clothes – How do you know how many to get and what size? The newborn size supposedly lasts for just such a short time that it might not make sense to buy clothes in that size. But what will the baby wear in the meantime? Then you have to get hats, mittens, socks, shirts, pants, onesies. It doesn’t help nor does it make sense that department stores in the Philippine are segregated by brand and not by item type. Confused people (like me) end up having to scour the entire floor just to make sure I’m getting the right ones for the right price.

Food – I will breastfeed. To make sure this happens one way or another, I’m reading breast feeding books and thankfully, my parents are sponsoring a breast pump, feeding bottles, breast pads, and everything else that has the word ‘breast’ in it.

Diapers – We will use cloth diapers. There’s so many different kinds though that most recommend getting a few of each type to figure out which one will work best for you and for the baby’s body type. All-in-one’s, pockets, pre-folds, covers, flats, snappis.  I’m a bit obsessed about cloth diapers right now. It’s overwhelming but I can’t wait to use them.

Yep, in the past couple of weeks we’ve finally started to get ready for the baby’s arrival. We’ve cleared up some space in the closet and in the cabinets anticipating for the baby’s things. It’s hard on the pocket but it’s getting really exciting and it feels more real that a baby will soon live with us when we start to accumulate baby-related things in the house.

As of this post I should be about 23 weeks and 6 days buntis.  The summer heat is unbearable at times and I am just grateful that my belly is not that huge yet. I’ve figured out that my big boobs make my belly seem smaller and I bet some people still wonder whether I am really pregnant or I’m just fat. I can’t believe we’re almost at the third trimester.

One Response to “Baby stuff”

  1. tseri Says:

    putik, sobrang natawa ako dito ah. 😛

    “my parents are sponsoring … everything else that has the word ‘breast’ in it”


Leave a Reply

