I will…

May 9, 2011

*Updated with a drawing. Didn’t seem right to have a blog entry without one.*

I panicked at first. I didn’t know what I needed to do and what I needed to read and learn about. Fortunately, the Internet is a plethora of information. Everything you need (and don’t need) to know is somewhere on some website on the wonderful world-wide web. For the past 5 months, my brain has been acting as a sponge soaking up all the information and advice that other parents and marketers have posted on the Internet.

The abundance of information is all overwhelming but at my age, I really should be old enough to know what I can and cannot manage. I figure, if it’s something I believe in and other women can do it, why can’t I? It’s a matter of trying to filter out what is really necessary from what is unnecessarily just trendy methods and products.

You may call me ignorant, stubborn, driven, competitive, or wishful-thinking but these are the things that I have decided I WILL do.

1. I WILL cloth diaper (most of the time) – It’s quite an investment at first but hopefully it will be more economical in the long run. We will leave a smaller carbon footprint on Mother Earth and I love doing laundry anyway. We’ll start with disposables during the newborn stage.

2. I WILL breastfeed (exclusively at least for the first 6 months) – I’m a bit scared about this just because it’s supposed to be so natural but it comes so hard for so many women.

3. I WILL baby wear – I’ve ordered a Moby wrap and I will order a Saya carrier too. No stroller for us for now.

4. I WILL not resort to getting a full-time yaya – I will, hopefully, be able to continue to work from home afterwards so that we can manage to do this.

5. I WILL (unless absolutely necessary) have as natural birth as possible – No, I don’t want an epidural – I wonder how realistic this statement will be once I’m actually in labor at the hospital.

The breastfeeding book that I’m reading now (The womanly art of breastfeeding) says that I have to decide that these are things that I’m GOING to do, not TRY to do. I just hope the people around me will be supportive about our decisions whether they agree with it or not.

No drawing with this post today. My creative juices have dried up with all the baby-related information soaked up in my brain. As of today, I should be 21 weeks and 6 days buntis – I’m following the original due date (Sept 13) provided, not from the latest ultrasound.

5 Responses to “I will…”

  1. Rorenz Says:

    Awww. No dorwing?!

  2. Rorenz Says:

    I WILL not go for 4D and costumed-baby studio pictorials. Hehe

  3. rorenz Says:

    he has the whole world as his studio and he doesn’t have to be in costume to be cute.

  4. meekerz Says:

    Have a longer/further target for breastfeeding ๐Ÿ˜‰ Because once you reach your target, the drive slowly fades, hehe.

    We were given a stroller… and I’ve used it about 2x for the past 2 years. It’s now clutter.

    I support #4 and #5… but good luck ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And who needs a studio? Pfft! The whole world is a stage ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

