maternity clothes

March 30, 2011

Even though I have not gained a lot of weight so far (just 2.5 lbs total), my body is changing and I’m at the point where my normal clothes either don’t fit anymore or are too tight for comfort. Good thing I have some clothes that are roomy and loose to begin with (to hide the body fat) so I still have some things to wear.

My sister graciously offered me some of the maternity clothes she wore when she was in her third trimester. Unfortunately, none of them fit. Yes, they were already too small even for my un-pregnant body. I really do think I’m adopted as a reason for why I am so much bigger than my sisters.

I do have a few pieces of maternity clothes because on my birthday a month and a half ago, almost all of the presents I got were maternity clothes. Some of the ones I got made me feel like I was wearing clothes from my grandmother’s wardrobe. They made me feel like a huge ball decorated with floral print. I was fortunately, able to trade-in some of the clothes that I didn’t like and I chose capri pants with the elastic waistband that goes almost up to my boobs. Oh my god, they are the most comfortable pants in the world! I realized that I should’ve gotten myself a pair of maternity pants way before I got pregnant!

I have not been hit with the shopping bug for maternity clothes. Since I’m not sporting a noticeable baby bump yet, a part of me feels like I don’t really need to. But, when I do start shopping, I hope I find maternity clothes that fit well and don’t make me feel too huge.

At this point, I’m around 16 weeks and 1 day buntis. Next month, on the fifth month, we go for the congenital anomaly scan (ultrasound) and hopefully, also find out the gender of the baby if it’s not too shy. I can’t believe it’s almost half-way through the pregnancy already.

Leave a Reply

