morning sickness

March 7, 2011

All the pregnancy books refer to morning sickness as a common pregnancy symptom. In fact, it’s supposed to be one of the signs that you are pregnant.

So far though, I haven’t really experienced any morning sickness. Early on, in the first month or so, I had some nausea and coughing fits that almost led to me throwing up but that was really as far as it went. I guess I’m lucky because I don’t have to feel the discomfort of daily puking and I’m not losing any of the nutrients in my body that the baby needs in order to grow.

It’s making me a bit more worried though since I feel so normal and un-pregnant. I told the doctor about this during our visit last week and although she seemed quite confident that nothing was wrong, I guess she saw the worried look on my face and decided to take out her doppler to look for the baby’s heartbeat. After a few worried minutes of hearing nothing, she managed to locate the baby and we were able to hear the fast heartbeat. Whew. It made me feel so relieved that I seriously considered (only for a few minutes) to buy my own doppler so I can hear the heartbeat every day and make sure that the baby is still there.

As of this post and by my own calculation, I should be around 12 weeks and 6 days buntis. The first trimester is almost over!

Leave a Reply

